Lab 2018 Album Cover

Lab 2018 | The Rhythm of the Road


Lab 2018 The Rhythm of the Road

One O’Clock Lab Band®
Directed by Alan Baylock

1. Hey, It’s Me You’re Talkin’ To byVictor Lewis/ arr. John Sturino (5:53)
Will Nathman, tenor saxophone | Gregory Newman, trumpet

2. The Rhythm of the Road by Brandon Moore (8:07)
Brian Woodbury, trombone | Kyle Bellaire, alto saxophone | John Sturino, drumset      

3. Train by Chris Potter/ arr. Brandon Moore (9:23)
Brandon Moore, tenor saxophone | Daniel Pinilla, guitar

4. Blues for Kazu by Brandon Moore (7:43)
Kazunori Tanaka, trumpet | Raul Reyes, bass

5. A Flower is a Lovesome Thing by Billy Strayhorn/ arr. Kyle Gordon (5:49)
Marion Powers, vocal | Paul Lees, piano

6. “Birds of a Feather…” by Rich DeRosa (7:20)
Paul Lees, piano | Kyle Bellaire, soprano saxophone

7. Without a Doubt by Alan Baylock (7:39)
Sam Cousineau, alto saxophone | Brett Lamel, trombone

8. Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5 by Heitor Villa-Lobos/ arr. Brian Woodbury (5:46)
Raul Reyes, bass | DJ Rice, trombone

9. After the Rain by John Coltrane / arr. Brandon Moore (7:52)
Brendon Wilkins, flute | Gregory Newman, flugelhorn



Kyle Bellaire (lead), Woodbine, MD
Samuel Cousineau, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Brandon Moore, Dexter, MO
Will Nathman, Watauga, TX
Brendon Wilkins, Saratoga, NY

Nick Owsik (lead), Doylestown, PA
Adam Horne, Southlake, TX
Huang-Hsiang Chang, Taipei, Taiwan
Kazunori Tanaka, Tokyo, Japan
Gregory Newman, Arlington, VA

Brian Woodbury (lead), Salt Lake City, UT
DJ Rice, Rowlett, TX
Brett Lamel, Plainview, NY
Tommy Barttels (bass), Springfield, MO
Kenny Davis (bass), Waunakee, WI   

Marion Powers (voice), Scituate, MA
Daniel Pinilla (guitar), Bogotá, Colombia
Paul Lees (piano), keyboard, St. Peters, MO
Raul Reyes (bass), Camagüey, Cuba
John Sturino  (drumset, percussion), Kenosha, WI

Craig Marshall, Manager
Christopher Walker, Administrative Assistant

The One O’Clock Lab Band is underwritten by Spec’s Charitable Foundation.

Producer and director: Alan Baylock
Producer and manager: Craig Marshall
Producer and recording engineer: Phil Bulla
Associate producer: Christopher Walker
Assistant recording engineer: Michael Vazquez
Project art, graphic design and layout: The Valdez
Cover photo: Christopher Walker
Photography and photo editing: Christopher Walker
Concert photography: Michael Clements
Copy editing: Craig Marshall, John Murphy, Linda Strube, Christopher Walker

John Richmond, Dean, College of Music
John Murphy, Chair, Division of Jazz Studies

Recorded on May 20-22, 2018 at Crystal Clear Sound Studio, Dallas, TX
Mixed by Alan Baylock and Phil Bulla at UNT College of Music, Denton, TX
Edited and Mastered by Phil Bulla at Platinum Productions, Monroe, NY

©℗ 2018
North Texas Jazz