Lab 2019 cover

Lab 2019



Lab 2019
One O’Clock Lab Band®
Directed by Alan Baylock

1. Al-Go-Rhythm by Rich DeRosa (8:16)
Gregory Newman, trumpet | Nathan Davis, trombone | Will Nathman, tenor saxophone

2. Leverage by DJ Rice (6:34)
Kyle Myers, alto saxophone | Andrew Duncan, baritone saxophone    

3. Third Time's the Charm by Kyle Myers (7:12)
Andrew Kilpela, trombone | Eric Hitt, bass | Kazunori Tanaka, trumpet

4. Frauenfeld by John Sturino (9:05)
Will Nathman, tenor saxophone

5. The Things We Did Last Summer by Jule Styne & Sammy Cahn / arr. John Sturino (3:30)
Marion Powers, vocal | Andrew Duncan, baritone saxophone

6. Red Herring by Kyle Myers (6:37)
Patrick Hill, alto saxophone | Ethan Ditthardt, guitar | Luke Berger, drumset

7. Confluence by Alan Baylock (8:52)
Addison Jordan, tenor saxophone | Chris Van Leeuwen, trumpet

8. I Can't Get Started by Vernon Duke & Ira Gershwin / arr. by Nathan Davis (8:05)
Michael Clement, piano | DJ Rice, trombone

9. Aggro by DJ Rice (8:01)
Ethan Ditthardt, guitar | Gregory Newman, flugelhorn
DJ Rice, trombone | Luke Berger, drumset

10. I'll Miss You by Kyle Myers (5:47)
Michael Clement, piano | Chris Van Leeuwen, flugelhorn | Patrick Hill, alto saxophone

Kyle Myers (lead) – alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute | San Diego, CA
Patrick Hill – alto saxophone, flute | Rowlett, TX
Will Nathman – tenor saxophone, clarinet, flute, alto flute | Watauga, TX
Addison Jordan – tenor saxophone, clarinet, flute | Coppell, TX
Andrew Duncan – baritone saxophone, bass clarinet | Parker, CO

Nick Owsik (lead) – trumpet, flugelhorn | Doylestown, PA
Eric Diaz – (lead on tracks 4 & 6) – trumpet, flugelhorn | Baytown, TX
Chris Van Leeuwen – trumpet, flugelhorn | Urbandale, IA
Kazunori Tanaka – trumpet, flugelhorn, French horn (tracks 4, 5, & 10) | Tokyo, Japan
Gregory Newman – trumpet, flugelhorn | Arlington, VA

Nathan Davis (lead) – tenor trombone | Waldorf, MD
DJ Rice – tenor trombone | Rowlett, TX
Drew Kilpela – tenor trombone | Okemos, MI
Ian Calhoun – bass trombone | Red Wing, MN
Tommy Barttels – bass trombone, tuba (track 4) | Springfield, MO

Marion Powers – voice | Scituate, MA
Ethan Ditthardt – guitar | Leesburg, VA
Michael Clement – piano, keyboard | Bountiful, UT
Eric Hitt – acoustic bass, electric bass | Chippewa Falls, WI
Luke Berger – drumset, percussion | Mt. Sterling, OH

Craig Marshall, Manager
Christopher Walker, Administrative Assistant

The One O’Clock Lab Band is underwritten by Spec’s Charitable Foundation.

Producer and director: Alan Baylock
Producer and manager: Craig Marshall
Producer and recording engineer: Phil Bulla
Associate producer: Christopher Walker
Assistant recording engineer: Michael Vazquez
Project art direction, graphic design and photography: Melanie Little Gomez and Des Smith of ARTLAB3000
Project layout: ARTLAB 3000, Christopher Walker
Concert and studio photography: Michael Clements, Christopher Walker
Copy editing: Craig Marshall, John Murphy, Linda Strube, Christopher Walker

John Richmond, Dean, College of Music
John Murphy, Chair, Division of Jazz Studies

Recorded on May 20–22, 2019 at Crystal Clear Sound Studio, Dallas, TX
Mixed by Alan Baylock and Phil Bulla at UNT College of Music, Denton, TX
Edited and Mastered by Phil Bulla at Platinum Productions, Monroe, NY

© ℗ 2019 • LA2019-AB
North Texas Jazz • 1155 Union Circle #311367 • Denton, TX 76203-5017

All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication prohibited by applicable laws. Proceeds from the sale of North Texas Jazz recordings benefit the University of North Texas and are used to support the jazz studies program through scholarships, public performances, tours, and related activities.