Lab 2021 album cover

Lab 2021



Lab 2021

One O’Clock Lab Band®
Directed by Alan Baylock

  1. It’s Only a Paper Moon by Harold Arlen, arr. by Austin Ford (6:12)
    • Soloists: Yeeun Kim, piano – Jackson Churchill, trombone
  2. Evading Karmacities by Michael Clement (7:37)
    • Soloists: Andrew Larsen, tenor saxophone – Alex Frondelli, guitar
  3. Phases by Gabi Date, arr. by Chris Bauer (6:11)
    • Soloists: Gabi Date, voice – Alex Frondelli, guitar – Aaron Stone, flugelhorn
  4. Runaround by Michael Abene (5:44)
    • Soloists: Austin Ford, trumpet – Daniel Henson, tenor saxophone
  5. A Remark You Made by Joe Zawinul, arr. Alan Baylock (6:56)
    • Soloists: Ian Calhoun, bass trombone – Jonathan Shier, flugelhorn – Michael Baylock, fretless bass
  6. Jolly Wallop by Chris Bauer (7:29)
    • Soloists: Chris Bauer, alto saxophone – Alex Frondelli, guitar
  7. Wisdom by Rich DeRosa (7:32)
    • Soloists: Jack Courtright, trombone – Gus Arnold, alto saxophone
  8. One of These Things (Doesn’t Belong) by Ariel Glassman (9:10)
    • Soloists: Austin Ford, flugelhorn – Daniel Henson, tenor saxophone
  9. Above the Clouds by Chris Bauer (6:28)
    • Soloists: Joseph Trahan, baritone saxophone – Alex Frondelli, guitar
  10. Cool Kids by Austin Ford (5:46)
    • Soloists: Trenton Barnes, trombone – Gus Arnold, alto saxophone –– William Ward, trumpet

Directed by Alan Baylock

Gus Arnold (lead) • Huntsville, AL
Chris Bauer • New Braunfels, TX
Andrew Larsen • Hillsboro, OR
Daniel Henson • Fairfax, VA
Joseph Trahan • Clute, TX

William Ward • Tacoma, WA
Seth Blitstein (split lead) • Orland Park, IL
Jonathan Shier • Fort Worth, TX
Aaron Stone • Plano, TX
Austin Ford • Portland, OR

Trenton Barnes (lead) • Mustang, OK
Jack Courtright • Burnsville, MN
Jackson Churchill • Duluth, MN
Jack Fetting (bass) • Chicago, IL
Ian Calhoun (bass) • Red Wing, MN

Gabi Date (voice) • McKinney, TX
Alex Frondelli (guitar) • Oceanside, NY
Yeeun Kim (piano) • Gunsan, South Korea
Michael Baylock (bass) • Centreville, VA
Joshua Calef (drumset) • Dallas, TX

Craig Marshall - Manager • Centreville, VA
Madison Russell - Administrative Coordinator • Lewisville, TX

The One O’Clock Lab Band is underwritten by Spec’s Charitable Foundation.

Producer and director: Alan Baylock
Producer and manager: Craig Marshall
Producer and recording engineer: Phil Bulla
Associate producer: Christopher Walker
Assistant recording engineers: Matt Pence, Jake Greenburg
Project art direction and graphic design: Christopher Walker
Project layout and additional graphic design: Christopher Walker
Studio photography: Michael Clements, Agustin Alonso, Christopher Walker
Copy editing: Craig Marshall, Linda Strube, Christopher Walker

John Richmond, Dean, College of Music
Rob Parton, Chair, Division of Jazz Studies

Recorded on May 11—14, 2021 at The Echo Lab, Argyle, TX
Mixed by Alan Baylock and Phil Bulla at Platinum Productions, Monroe, NY
Edited and Mastered by Phil Bulla at Platinum Productions, Monroe, NY

© ℗ 2021 • LA2101-AB
North Texas Jazz • 1155 Union Circle #311367 • Denton, TX 76203-5017

All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication prohibited by applicable laws. Proceeds from the sale of North Texas Jazz recordings benefit the University of North Texas and are used to support the jazz studies program through scholarships, public performances, tours, and related activities.