Lab 2023


Lab 2023

One O’Clock Lab Band®
Directed by Alan Baylock

  1. Fanfare for an Uncommon Man (Rich DeRosa) - 4:50
    • Solos: Will St Peter, guitar; Colman Burks, drum set
    • Written in honor of Bob Curnow
  2. Queen Dee Dee’s Samba (Katelyn Robinson, arr. Ariel Glassman) 7:29
    • Solos:Katelyn Robinson, voice; Jake Nalangan, piano; Jason Schilling, trombone
  3. I Have Dreamed (Richard Rodgers/Oscar Hammerstein II, arr. Ariel Glassman) 7:48
    • Solos: Katelyn Robinson, voice; Anthony Bolden, tenor sax
  4. Overdrive (Jack Lanhardt) 7:18
    • Will St Peter, guitar; Ben Carroll, trumpet; Gabriel Burns, alto sax
  5. Goodbye (Jack Lanhardt) 7:17
    • Jake Nalangan, piano; Jack Lanhardt, bass clarinet, baritone sax; Richie Thaller, lead trumpet
  6. Taínos y Caribes (Miguel Zenón, arr. Jack Lanhardt) 8:06
    • Will St Peter, guitar; Ian Weidmann, alto sax
  7. Strollin’ (Horace Silver) 7:08
    • Gabriel Nieves, tenor sax; Ken Ebo, trombone; Craig Schroeder, trumpet
  8. Hiraeth (Appalachian Snow) (F. August Bish) 6:10
    • Katelyn Robinson, voice; Joshua Zeitlin, trumpet; F. August Bish, bass
  9. Up & Away (Alan Baylock) 13:26
    • Nick Mailes, trombone; Joshua Zeitlin, trumpet; Ian Weidmann, alto sax; Gabriel Nieves, tenor sax; Gabriel Burns, alto sax; Anthony Bolden, tenor sax; Jack Lanhardt, baritone sax
    • Lead alto line of sax soli written by Drew Zaremba


Alan Baylock, director

Ian Weidmann (Lead Alto Sax, Soprano Sax, Flute) – San Antonio, TX
Gabriel Burns (Alto Sax, Clarinet, Flute) – Long Beach, CA
Gabriel Nieves (Tenor Sax, Flute) – Rolling Hills, VA
Anthony Bolden (Tenor Sax, Vibraslap) – Salem, OR
Jack Lanhardt (Baritone Sax, Bass Clarinet) – Corona, CA

Richie Thaller (lead) – Acton, MA
Naoki Hoshi (lead on tracks 2, 3, 4, 9) – Sendai, JAPAN
Ben Carroll – Jupiter, FL
Joshua Zeitlin – Palos Verdes, CA
Craig Schroeder – Dallas, TX

Ken Ebo (lead) – Camden, SC
Jason Schilling – Bellevue, WA
Nick Mailes (lead on tracks 2, 3, 4, 5) – Joplin, MO
Connor Fallon (bass) – Ft. Worth, TX
Paul Covert (bass) – Richmond, VA

Katelyn Robinson (Voice) – Los Angeles, CA
Will St Peter (Guitar) – Bucksport, MA
Jake Nalangan (Piano, Keyboard) – Sacramento, CA
F. August Bish (Acoustic Bass, Electric Bass) – Harrisburg, PA
Colman Burks (Drum Set) – Plano, TX

Isaac Lavigne (Surdo, Tamborim) – Chicago, IL
Jeffery Chaidez (Caxixi, Shakers, Triangle) – Houston, TX



Producer/director – Alan Baylock
Assistant producer/recording engineer – Phil Bulla
Assistant producer/manager – Craig Marshall
Assistant engineers – Nathan Walters, Marshall Pruitt
Project art direction, layout, design – Matt Hellman, Alan Baylock, others at B Side
Cover art – Carmen Menza -
Photography – Matt Hellman, Alan Baylock
Copy editing – Linda Strube, Craig Marshall
Recorded on May 16-19, 2023 at The Echo Lab, Argyle, TX
Mixed by Alan Baylock and Phil Bulla at Platinum Productions, Monroe, NY
Edited and Mastered by Phil Bulla at Platinum Productions, Monroe, NY

The One O’Clock Lab Band® is underwritten by the Spec’s Charitable Foundation.

© ℗ 2023 • LA2301-AB
North Texas Jazz • 1155 Union Circle #311367 • Denton, TX 76203-5017

All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication prohibited by applicable laws. Proceeds from the sale of North Texas Jazz recordings benefit the University of North Texas and are used to support the jazz studies program through scholarships, public performances, tours, and related activities.